The HSJGA named four (4) teams that will represent Hawaii on the national scene this summer:

Kara Kaneshiro (Honolulu), Leia Chung (Wahiawa), Teal Matsueda (Honolulu) and Ashley Koga (Honolulu) will travel to Eagle, Idaho to represent Hawaii at the Girls’ Junior America’s Cup, July 20-22 at BanBury Golf Course.

Team Accomplishments:

Kara Kaneshiro of Honolulu captured the IMG Junior World Championship Qualifier

Leia Chung of Wahiawa won the Aloha Section PGA Junior Championship

Teal Matsueda of Honolulu qualified for the USGA Junior Girls’ Amateur

Ashley Koga of Honolulu was runner up at the HSJGA All Ages JTS Maui

The team will be led by first time Captain Anna Umemura Murata from Aiea, HI.  Anna is a Punahou alumni and played college golf at the University of Tennessee.  She is a 3x Jennie K. Wilson Invitational Champion, semifinalist 3 years in a row at the US Girls’ Junior Championship, 1st female to win 3 HHSAA HS Golf Championships and Women’s Army Invitational wins in 2018 and 2019.  She turned professional in 2003 and played on the SBC Futures Tour.  Anna is currently an assistant coach for girl’s golf at Punahou.  She is well known in the Hawaii golf community, but did you know she was a part of a winning GJAC Hawaii Team? She won in 1992 and also participated in 1993, 1994 & 1995!

Hawaii is the defending champion winning at Mureta, CA in 2019!  Good luck Hawaii!

Introducing our 2021 Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches Hawaii Team!

Dane Watanabe (Kaneohe), Dysen Park (Hilo), Dillon Jonke (Kihei) and Justin Todd (Kaneohe) will represent Hawaii and travel to Portland, Oregon to compete in the annual Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches, August 13-15.

Team Accomplishments:

Dane Watanabe captured the HSJGA Optimist Qualifier

Dysen Park was runner up at the HSJGA All Ages JTS Kauai

Dillon Jonke was Tied for 14th at the US Open Local Qualifier

Justin Todd finished 3rd at the HSJGA All Ages JTS Kauai

The team will be led by Kellen Floyd Asao from Honolulu.  Kellen is an alumnus of Oahu Junior Golf and the HSJGA.  As a junior golfer, he qualified 6x for Junior World, qualified for Junior America’s Cup twice and was the 2000 Hawaii State Callaway Junior State Champion.  He won the Manoa Cup in 2003, Hilo Invitational in ’05 and was a USGA Hawaii State Team member in ’06.  He played college golf for UH Manoa and later turned pro in ’09.  He has served as a captain for the Asia Pacific Junior Cup Hawaii Team as well.  Today, Kellen owns and operates Asao Golf which opened in 2013.

Meet our Mary Cave Cup Team Hawaii!

Kate Nakaoka (Mililani), Raya Nakao (Mililani), Kelsie Inouye (Aiea) and Payten Shimizu (Wailuku) will represent Hawaii at the Mary Cave Cup in San Diego, CA, August 2-4.

Team Accomplishments:

Kate Nakaoka captured the HSJGA All Ages JTS Kauai

Raya Nakao is the HSJGA King Auto Group 13-18 State Champion

Kelsie Inouye was runner up at the HSJGA King Auto Group 13-18 State Championship

Payten Shimizu finished 3rd at the HSJGA All Ages JTS Maui

The team will be led by veteran Captain, Brenda Rego, PGA of Wailuku, who

is the head professional at Wailea Resort’s Blue Course.  In the 1970s, she won every major amateur championship in Hawaii, turned professional in 1980 and played the LPGA Tour for 2 years then became Hawaii’s first female Class A PGA professional.  In 2017, Brenda was inducted into the Aloha Section PGA Hall of Fame.  She has served as an HSJGA board member since 2000, has captained the Girls’ Junior America’s Cup Hawaii team for 5 years and Mary Cave Cup team for 15 years.

Meet our Junior America’s Cup Team Hawaii!

Joshua Hayashida (Mililani), Marshall Kim, Jr. (Honolulu), Joshua Chung (San Diego/Honolulu), Anson Cabello (Kahului) will represent Hawaii at the Junior America’s Cup, July 25-29 at the Powderhorn in Sheridan, Wyoming.

Team Highlights:

Joshua Hayashida is the HSJGA King Auto Group 13-18 State Champion

Marshall Kim Jr. qualified for the USGA Junior Amateur

Joshua Chung is the Aloha Section PGA Junior Champion

Anson Cabello is the Champion of the HSJGA All Ages JTS Maui

The team will be led by veteran Captain and HSJGA Board Member, Rick Castillo, PGA from Wailuku.  Rick has captained the team from 2006-2019 and helped Hawaii to victory in 2014 at the Shaughessy Golf and CC in Vancouver.  Rick played on a JAC Hawaii Team in 1975 and was on the winning team in 1976 at Ogden, Utah. He has been a PGA Member since 1985 and spent 26 years at the Wailea Golf Club followed by 16 years at The King Kamehameha Golf Club where he currently holds position as Director of Memberships.